I Miss You, Pedro

 Quietus

 My Entry    for the  Prompt for Fridays 100 words Story!

Pedro

I stare into her watery eyes. She senses my physical life is ending.
The medicine isn’t working. My organs are shutting down.
I’m not hungry, yet she sprinkles fresh chicken on my food.
I’m not thirsty, yet she wets my lips. She loves me. He loves me.
How can I leave them?

They have made a decision. I thank them
He’s holding me. I feel his heartbeat. He understands. She doesn’t.
My eyes are heavy and these shackles are melting away. I leave you, my human family, joyful the fifteen-year bond we nurtured now blossoms forever in our hearts.

18 thoughts on “I Miss You, Pedro

Leave a Reply

