Book Launch

Follow my Book Launch Journey Part 4

Marketing Dilemma

Marketing Dilema A Grand Mexico Tour

 

Ten Reasons Why I Find  Marketing so Darned Difficult

  1.  I’m an unknown author.
  2. Why should I think anyone would be interested in my subject?
  3. What if readers don’t like my book?
  4. What if  I receive a one-star rating?
  5. Where do I start?
  6. There are sooooo many books competing for readers on Amazon.
  7. Exposure scares me.
  8. Can I handle becoming  a successful author?
  9. Will I have to speak in public?
  10. There aren’t enough hours in the day.

Writing the book is a personal triumph; selling the book,  a private nightmare..  I had to do a lot of soul searching and boiled all the above reasons  down to………drum roll…..

A Grand Mexico Tour

FEAR

Yes, self-promotion sucks, but to share my -E-books,  I needed to get real.  So I did what I do best.  I researched and digested everything Marketing on the Internet.  I joined several free self-publish marketing e-courses.     The main message I took away from each of these courses  has been summed up best by  Todd Sattersten, former President of 800-CEO-READ :

“Every book is a startup.”

In other words, to be successful in the dog-eat-dog   marketing arena,  I had to treat my E-books like  a business.  Do you know that sinking feeling  in the pit of your stomach when what you hear doesn’t fit with your moral fiber.  I cringed at the idea of treating my creations like a business.

Social media I could handle.  Soliciting emails,  not so much.  Once I stopped panicking,  I rationalized I didn’t have to implement every one of their strategies.    I could pick and choose the strategies that best suited my personality like introducing readers to  my world by offering  E-Book one in my series, On RVing Time,  for free in line with  the goal I shared with you in Part 3 of this journey.  I hope you grabbed your copy and enjoyed the adventure.

My goal for marketing my e-book is to have fun by sharing information with my readers.

My infamous and pragmatic  English husband,  John,  pointed out the obvious to me.  “Free.    You won’t keep us in  choccy biscuits offering your hard work for free, my love.”

Digestives

 

I explained.   “Have you seen all the Star War movies? Or the Harry Potter movies? Did you line up for hours in freezing cold temperatures?  No, you waited a week or two for the crowds to die down.   You might remember bits of  each movie but if you’re anything like me, I can’t remember one from the other. That’s where TV comes in.  To elicit buzz for the upcoming release,   the franchise schedules, for free, the back episodes to bring viewers  up to date.  Well, I copied their strategy.”

“You’re the author,”  he said,  stomping off with the last of the biscuits.

In my next post, I’ll share with you  three questions that helped me put Marketing into perspective.

What are your favorite marketing strategies?

 

10 thoughts on “Follow my Book Launch Journey Part 4

  1. Janice Wald says:

    Hi!
    I know Thumbup, Chris M., Chris G., and Danny Ray. You liked a comment I made on his site. I wanted to come, introduce myself, and thank you.
    To respond to your post… my favorite marketing tips? I am trying to use social media. I work hard at Pinterest but feel traffic back to my blog is slow.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

