Glamping and Shopping

Shopping meets Glamping

This post is In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt  “On the Edge.”

Okay, so I love shopping.  What girl doesn’t?”  And when I’m stressed, nothing eases my anxiety more than spotting  the extra 70% off the discounted price signs displayed above racks of  exorbitantly priced designer clothes.

When we owned a four-bedroom home, it was soooo easy to buy and hide.  “You look great,” my husband would comment.    I’ve not seen that outfit before?”

“Oh, this old outfit?”  Of course,  I’d  wrinkle my nose and in  movie-star fashion, rotate my hand in a circular motion and  raise my voice a few octaves exaggerating the word  “old”.

Then, we turned our lives upside down, traded our home backing on to a golf course for life on the road in a  fifthwheel.

RVing 1

Fifthwheel parked in front of sold house

I wouldn’t consider myself a shopaholic.  More of a shopper with a mission and a  passion to find the best for less.  I had to figure out how to blend shopping with glamping.

What the heck is glamping, you ask? The definition according to the   Urban Dictionary describes me to a tee.

Shorthand for glamorous camping; luxury camping.”
Example of glamping used in a sentence: I ain’t sleepin’ in no tent! For real, I’m goin’ glamping.”

To entice me to leave Suburbia, my husband threw in a loss leader, a teaser. “A bad mistake”, he’d later claim.   He agreed to stop whenever and wherever I spotted a galleria.  Unbeknownst to either of us, I had a sixth sense for finding these jewels.  A three-inch soft covered Entry-Exit book helped.   So, my dutiful husband indulged me.

What should have taken us a few days to reach our destinations spread out to weeks and months because I found, to my delight, gallerias abounded on major highways and byways and I had oodles of storage space.  The downside. I  discovered, as much as I tried,  I  couldn’t stuff four bedrooms of clothing and shoes into a forty-foot container.  Not to worry, I  became a savvier shopper.

We have since downsized to a twenty-four foot  motorhome.

Glamping Queen

The journey continues

My husband still indulges my shopping pangs but now greets me at the doorway with a quizzical gaze on his face and asks two questions, “How much did you save me today?” and “What are you throwing out?”

 

 

10 thoughts on “Shopping meets Glamping

  1. joseelavallee says:

    Hi Sharon! I have nominated you for the Blogger Recognition Award.

    I would like to thank you personally for making my journey an exceptionally enjoyable one here. If you are inundated with awards, or would prefer not to participate, please just accept my sincere thanks for being part of my world…nothing is expected in return.

    https://joseelavallee.wordpress.com/2015/08/17/blogger-recognition-award/

    All My Love!
    Josee

    PS…Glamping is my kind of camping!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

